Chinese Internet scam
I just learned of an Internet scam coming from China that targets businesses and not consumers. I had never heard of it, but I've now read that it looks to be an old scam.
Here's how it works:
1. A Chinese Internet domain registrar contacts your company and tells you that a local (Chinese) company has "pre-registered" your domain name in several formats, (www.yourcompany.com.cn, .cn, .net.cn, etc.). In my case they wrote to my personal email address (I'm CEO of a software company that specializes in the auto industry).
The subject of the email is very to the point: "Autologica Domain Names For Intellectual Property Disputation".
2. They tell you that a Chinese company has "suspiciously" applied for Chinese domain names that "infringe on your trademarks". Since they know this is "harmful to your business", they've put these registrations on hold and are giving you the chance to register them ASAP!
3. They also give you the chance to register your "keywords", á lá those old Internet Keywords offered way back in 2000 by long and deservedly defunct RealNames.
4. All you have to do is contact the Chinese registrar and they'll take care of everything!
The email is written in such a personable style, complete with cute English language errors, and makes such good use of the old quid pro quo tactic, that I was very much compelled to fall.
Of course, it's all baloney. We immediately went to Godaddy and registered our Chinese domains on the spot.
Wait a minute... maybe that's exactly what these guys wanted?! I feel like a perplexed Andy Garcia at the end of Ocean's Eleven!
Tags: Internet scams, email scams
Powered by Qumana
Comments